Old Blog

Filipino “Resume”

Posted on: Marso 24, 2007

As a graduating Medical Office Management student, we are required to write a resume for our externship. For some, the term “externship” is new and they might be thinking that what I am probably referring to is “internship”. If you are one of them, please feel free to Google it :P

This morning, the director of the Allied Health Department taught us how to write an effective and professional resume. For some of my Filipino readers pay close attention to details and see for yourself how “our” resume format differs from that of the “western’s.”

Dr.. S, the director, started by sharing the importance of writing a resume. She said resume is a good record of work and educational history. Right after she said that, I just realized that most Filipinos do not need to construct a resume for two reasons: first, some of them do not have a very good educational history aside from their elementary and high school, and second, they do not have a “history” of work. It is no doubt that some Filipinos do not even know what a resume is.

After talking about the importance of writing a resume, she continued by enumerating the list of information that should be included in our resume: our name, address, telephone number and email address. It was funny how she told us not to use: cutypie@teen-age.com or shoppinggirl@prada.com . She said that as a director, she received a resume from biker@death.com and in that very instance, she trashed the resume. She advised us to use our initial and last name as our email address. It gave me an idea of creating a new email, like mdelacruz@gmail.com. I do not know if that email address has been registered already, but who cares. (Snickers)

She also said that we should not include our “age and marital status” in our resume. At that very moment, I remembered the look and feel of a “BIODATA” in the Philippines (the fill-able paper form you buy in any sari-sari store for 2 pesos maybe). The form asks for our age (a very good invitation for our employers to discriminate us based on our age). The form also asks for our birthday, as if answering it will allow us to receive gifts yearly. Other funny things in that form are: religion, parents’ names and their employment, sometimes their age, and a picture (ugly people have 100% chance of not getting a job, just kidding.) Enough of this bio-data craps!

I guess, what I am trying to say is that, in our culture, our resume contains information that can be considered as an invitation for and to discrimination. I am not sure if there are laws that explicitly or implicitly prohibit discrimination in any shape, way and form, but as potential employees, we should start teaching ourselves how to write a “reformed kind of resume” — a resume that reflects us and not our “junks”, unless we consider ourselves to be one big *u*k (junk!).

***
In ten seconds or less, name me at least 2 information that you have seen in a Filipino resume that you believe should not be there in the first place. Ticktack ticktack ticktack …

Technorati Technorati: , , , , , , , , , ,

11 Tugon to "Filipino “Resume”"

my resume is one page short….. which only consumes 1/2 of the page.

What the hell, what font size are you using? Are you for real?

which is better with picture or none?

Source: NH First Job

Recommended DON’Ts on a Resume:

Do not date your resume – keep it current
Do not include religious or political organization memberships
Do not mention salary – discuss the subject in the interview
Do not include a photo with your resume
Do not include birth date, social security number, height, weight or marital status
Do not give reasons for leaving past jobs
Do not include every last detail of your life.

Hope it helps

Recommended DON’Ts on a Resume:

Do not date your resume – keep it current
Do not include religious or political organization memberships
Do not mention salary – discuss the subject in the interview
Do not include a photo with your resume
Do not include birthdate, social security number, height, weight or marital status
Do not give reasons for leaving past jobs
Do not include every last detail of your life.

Source: NH FIRST JOB

miko, any good reason why i can’t paste my photo on my CV? some employers are after the looks in a particular job.

Because, the RESUME is the PICTURE of YOU already. Unless you think that your employer will discriminate in your favor based on your look :P

We need to amend that Filipino culture of “i think i have additional points because i got the looks”

Unless you are applying for modeling or acting.

Now its clear to me..mabuhay ka kabayan! For your info I’m here now in Dubai worked as a Graphic Designer by profession. At first its a long wait to get an appointment so I ask myself what’s wrong with my CV? I have tried with or without pics they got the one without. Yes, your experienced will speak for yourself right now I’m secured with my company’s working visa. Salamat at naway ipagatuloy mo ang iyong magandang adhikain…

Mabuhay ka Gardo.

I am just passing it forward. Minsan din akong tinulungan ng iba by mere blog entry, i just thought of doing the same.

Ingat lagi sa lupa ng dayuhan.

[...] David Burge wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptThis morning, the director of the Allied Health Department taught us how to write an effective and professional resume. For some of my Filipino readers pay close attention to details and see for yourself how “our” resume format differs … [...]

[...] Anyway, I am still up because I am looking for sample résumé’s online  since we are obliged to submit one to our cooperating teachers and also to  the school principal I think. I  have a sample already and I asked another one to my PT-mate meaning I had 2 now yet I’m still not satisfied. So I end up googling sample résumé and stumbled to this. [...]

Mag-iwan ng Tugon

I Will Check Your Blog!

Days of Our Lives

Salamat sa Pagdating

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

